Macy McMillan Wins the Schneider

Reposting from Publisher Spotlight’s blog… Thank you for the cheers, support, and kind words, Publisher Spotlight!

PS We're Reading

Macy CoverWe are thrilled to share that at the Youth Media Awards announcements earlier this month, author Shari Green and publisher Pajama Press were awarded the prestigious Schneider Family Book Award for Macy McMillan and the Rainbow Goddess.

The Schneider Family Book Awards is an initiative of the American Library Association that honors “an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences.” Macy McMillan and the Rainbow Goddess won the 2018 Schneider Family Book Award in the Middle School Book category.

Written in flowing free verse, Macy McMillan and the Rainbow Goddess follows deaf sixth-grader Macy as she is helped through difficult life changes by an unexpected friendship with her elderly neighbor Iris. Through the power of shared stories and freshly baked cookies, Macy and Iris support one another as they begin new chapters in their lives, full of hope and promise…

View original post 90 more words

MACY McMILLAN had quite an amazing weekend … which means I did, too! I’m not at ALA Midwinter, but to my complete shock and amazement, MACY made a couple appearances.

On Saturday, the United States Board on Books for Youth announced their 2018 Outstanding International Books list.


As if that wasn’t enough faint-then-freakout news for one weekend, on Sunday I received an astonishing phone call from the selection committee for the American Library Association‘s Schneider Family Book Awards. This morning, this announcement made the news public:



I’m not sure how Macy’s feeling down in Denver at the ALA conference, but up here, I’m still in shock. I’m thrilled and grateful and honoured and humbled, all at once. Thank you to the USBBY and the Schneider Family award committee!!


I’m heading to Surrey, BC, tomorrow for the Surrey International Writers’ Conference. It’s going to be a packed-full four days of learning, inspiration, connecting with old friends, and meeting new people who will become old friends. I’ll also be doing a book-signing, along with a great lineup of other authors (maybe some of your faves?). The book-signing is free and open to the public, so if you’re in the area, plan to head to the Sheraton Guildford Hotel in Surrey on Saturday (5:30 – 7:00 pm). I’d love to see you!


MMRG cover - smallIt’s MACY McMILLAN’s U.S. book-birthday! I’m excited that this book is now out in both Canada and the U.S. 😀 To celebrate, I’m sending virtual cookies to everyone *nomnomnom* and offering three opportunities to win a signed copy of MACY McMILLAN:

Thank you so much for all your support along this “book journey”. I hope you love Macy’s story!


Book Manager | Indiebound | Book Depository | Chapters | Barnes&Noble | |

MACY McMILLAN AND THE RAINBOW GODDESS is out today! Cookies for everyone! 😀


A summer read for fans of Sharon Creech and Kate DiCamillo.

Olivia has been Macy McMillan’s best friend ever since Macy transferred to Hamilton Elementary from Braeside School for the Deaf. But then their sixth grade teacher assigned that embarrassing family tree project, and Olivia made a joke about Macy’s father, and now neither girl is speaking—or signing—to the other.

It couldn’t have happened at a worse time. With her mother getting married and an ugly For Sale sign jammed into their yard, Macy could really use a best friend right now. But it seems the only person who has time for her these days is Iris Gillan from next door. And it’s not like a crabby, old woman who doesn’t even know sign language is going to be any comfort. Right?

MACY McMILLAN AND THE RAINBOW GODDESS is a Junior Library Guild 2017 selection.


“Told as a verse-novel, in a light yet poignant style … there is much to admire here including a clear plot line, rich character development, and sudden, incisive humour … Highly recommended.”—CM Magazine 

“…spare yet poignant narrative … Macy’s life lessons are realistic and illuminating; that she is deaf adds yet another dimension to an already powerful tale.”—Kirkus