I’m heading to Surrey, BC, tomorrow for the Surrey International Writers’ Conference. It’s going to be a packed-full four days of learning, inspiration, connecting with old friends, and meeting new people who will become old friends. I’ll also be doing a book-signing, along with a great lineup of other authors (maybe some of your faves?). The book-signing is free and open to the public, so if you’re in the area, plan to head to the Sheraton Guildford Hotel in Surrey on Saturday (5:30 – 7:00 pm). I’d love to see you!

booksigning-siwc2017.jpg

MMRG cover - smallIt’s MACY McMILLAN’s U.S. book-birthday! I’m excited that this book is now out in both Canada and the U.S. 😀 To celebrate, I’m sending virtual cookies to everyone *nomnomnom* and offering three opportunities to win a signed copy of MACY McMILLAN:

Thank you so much for all your support along this “book journey”. I hope you love Macy’s story!

add-to-goodreads

Book Manager | Indiebound | Book Depository | Chapters | Barnes&Noble | Amazon.ca | Amazon.com

MACY McMILLAN AND THE RAINBOW GODDESS is out today! Cookies for everyone! 😀

mmrg-jrlibraryguild

A summer read for fans of Sharon Creech and Kate DiCamillo.

Olivia has been Macy McMillan’s best friend ever since Macy transferred to Hamilton Elementary from Braeside School for the Deaf. But then their sixth grade teacher assigned that embarrassing family tree project, and Olivia made a joke about Macy’s father, and now neither girl is speaking—or signing—to the other.

It couldn’t have happened at a worse time. With her mother getting married and an ugly For Sale sign jammed into their yard, Macy could really use a best friend right now. But it seems the only person who has time for her these days is Iris Gillan from next door. And it’s not like a crabby, old woman who doesn’t even know sign language is going to be any comfort. Right?

MACY McMILLAN AND THE RAINBOW GODDESS is a Junior Library Guild 2017 selection.

Reviews:

“Told as a verse-novel, in a light yet poignant style … there is much to admire here including a clear plot line, rich character development, and sudden, incisive humour … Highly recommended.”—CM Magazine 

“…spare yet poignant narrative … Macy’s life lessons are realistic and illuminating; that she is deaf adds yet another dimension to an already powerful tale.”—Kirkus